News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/15/2022 9:54:01 AM to 7/17/2023 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

Top News

Posted on: July 14, 2022

[ARCHIVED] SJCOG’s Executive Director Nguyen begins year as chair of valleywide directors committee

Image shows SJCOG Executive Director Diane Nguyen.

San Joaquin Council of Governments Executive Director Diane Nguyen this week began a one-year tenure as chair of the San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies Directors Committee. 

The committee is made up of the executive directors of the regional planning agencies in San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, Kings, Kern, Tulare, and Fresno counties, the San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority, and the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District. It provides input for elected officials on the San Joaquin Valley Policy Council, which is a forum for elected officials in those counties to consider regional issues such as transportation, air quality, housing and advocacy efforts.

"The executive directors committee is vital for building consensus between the agencies on how to manage important regional issues with a single vision,” Nguyen said. “We can have a greater impact on these important regional issues when we collaborate together on a plan of action.”

Nguyen replaces Kern Council of Governments Executive Director Ahron Hakimi as chair of the directors committee and Theodore Smalley, executive director of the Tulare County Association of Governments, replaces Nguyen as vice chair.

Nguyen became the SJCOG executive director in January 2021 after eight years as the agency’s deputy director of planning, programming, and project delivery. She has over 20 years of public service at the San Joaquin Council of Governments where she began her planning career in 1995. She left the agency in 2005 to serve as the Manager of Capital Programs and Public Policy for a private consulting firm and then returned in 2012. 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Top News

Habitat logo


Posted on: January 26, 2024 | Last Modified on: November 4, 2021
Guadalupe “Lupita” Gutierrez (left to right), Joann Martinez and Edith Verdin.

New SJCOG hires have deep regional roots

Posted on: September 28, 2023
Image shows the photos of five new SJCOG Board members.

Record 5 new members join SJCOG Board

Posted on: February 7, 2023
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Webinar flyer

Hydrogen Fuel Cell Webinar

Posted on: September 29, 2022
Miner Ave ribbon cutting (002)

Miner Avenue Complete Streets Project

Posted on: March 16, 2022
Tran Halva 1_19_22

Local talent makes a difference

Posted on: January 19, 2022